Words


Words,
If not for words,
This would never be written
If not for words,
This would forever be lost in time

If not for words that have been spoken,
There would be no faint of heart or strength in love
If not for words that have been spoken,
Emotions would die deaths of agony in silence

For the words I write
For the words I speak
Thou shan’t find a finer meaning or expression of me
In time, in history, in memory, in ink

Words,
Undulated like the sands of the Sahara
Standing tall in time
Formed by the letters that make them

If not for words, silence would behold one
If not for words, the deaf and dumb would remain unspoken
If not for words, there would no stories to tell of
And little children would sleep quiet nights of no dreams

It is but words I write and words that I speak
That make me more than a lump of flesh and bone
It is but words I write and words that I speak
That feed me life in every breath that I take, in every morsel of my soul

If not for words, what would I be?
You and or me, lost in a crowd, a sea
Of opinions and perceptions alike with no voices or choices
We’d lay bare, stripped off all emotions
Naked and broken

Words,
Timid yet powerful
Like little ants forming sand castles in the jungle
Quietly weaving a story to be spoken in time

Words,
Like the jagged peaks of the Himalayas
Standing tall in time
Formed by the letters that make them

2 Responses to Words

  1. slpmartin says:

    Words…a prescription for sanity

Leave a Reply

