Waiting


I can hear it drip
From the cuts that I bear
Pools of crimson red
Try as hard as I may
Pieces of a heart
Now lay scattered in disarray
Some say, wasted in wait
Never to come back again
But I smile in my pain
Waiting as she smiles through my gray

I can hear it drip
From the cuts that I bear
Like the sound of a beating drum
It breathes in fear
And for all that I have lost
In the wounds and scars I fare
Mornings pass by into nights
Millions of words tell me someone cares
For reasons only they can define
Waiting as she smiles through my tears

One Response to Waiting

  1. slpmartin says:

    The poem seems to capture the emotions of heartbreak very well.

Leave a Reply

