Lost


She sits alone on the streets to nowhere
With a bag of some old forgotten memories
Buried deep within her heart in time
Waiting for a tomorrow that never comes

Oblivious of her surroundings
She stares blankly along the plains
Where her fields once were
Now stand buildings of power and fame
Her lost gaze stares across the ages in time
As she holds her bag of memories
And hopes to find
A soul lost, somewhere left behind

She sits alone on the streets to nowhere
With a bag of some old forgotten memories
Buried deep within her heart in time
Waiting for a tomorrow that never comes

2 Responses to Lost

  1. Kavita says:

    Maaaaann…this was beautiful! And so damn sad…
    I was lost in the poem.. it really was very unnerving, melancholy… but BEAUTIFUL nevertheless!
    I think you’ve captured the sentiment perfectly! And the image… need I really say anything there.. ?! 😦 Her gaze says it all…

    • navdib says:

      Thanks Kavs… I was on my way back to my hotel after a day walking around in Yuanmingyuan Park in Beijing and as I was clicking the streets from my cab window, I saw this lady there and started to click continuously… saw the resulting photgraph and felt very sad for her… glad you spoted her gaze and that gaze haunts me everytime I look at it… its one of my favourite pictures I’ve taken

Leave a Reply

